The Twelve Archetypes Of Jung

Jung’s twelve archetypes form the basis of ancient works such as The Odyssey, and we can also see them in contemporary stories such as The Matrix.
Jung .'s Twelve Archetypes

Carl Gustav Jung is perhaps the most famous dissenter within classical psychoanalysis. He strayed from Freudian ideas and explored the ancestral roots and collective subconscious mind and had many revolutionary ideas. One of these ideas was his twelve archetypes/personality types.

To define the twelve archetypes of personality, Jung studied the symbols and myths of many different cultures. These archetypes represent patterns of behavior that shape different ways of being. They are also cultural symbols and images that exist in the collective unconscious.

Jung defined the twelve archetypes or personality types as an innate tendency to generate images with intense emotional meaning that express the relational superiority of human life.

They are imprints buried in our subconscious. These terms define the specific qualities that each of us has.

Jung .’s Twelve Archetypes/Personality Types

1. The Wise

The sage is a free thinker. His intellect and knowledge is his reason for living, his essence. He tries to understand the world and his being by using his intelligence and analytical skills. He always has a fact, quote or logical argument up his sleeve.

Woman with glasses

2. The Innocent

The innocent seems to have read and absorbed every self-help book in the world. He is optimistic and always looking for happiness. The innocent sees the good in everything. He wants to fit in well with the world around him. The innocent also wants to please others and make them feel like they belong somewhere.

3. The Explorer

The explorer is a brave traveler. He leaves without a clear path in mind and is always open to new things and adventure.

The explorer has a deep love for discovering new places and new things about himself. The downside of the explorer archetype is that he is always looking for perfection and is never satisfied.

4. The ruler

The ruler is a classical leader. He is convinced that he is the right person to bring order to any situation. The ruler is stable, strives for excellence and wants everyone to follow his example.

He usually has plenty of reasons why everyone should listen to him. This is one of Jung’s twelve archetypes related to power. The ruler, in his desire to impose his will on others, can easily turn into a tyrant.

5. The Creator

The creator has a deep desire for freedom because he loves new things. He likes to transform things to create something completely new.

The creator is smart, non-conformist and self-sufficient. He is imaginative and good-humoured. However, he can also be inconsistent and spend more time thinking than actually doing.

Jung .'s Twelve Archetypes

6. The Caregiver

The caregiver feels stronger than other people. He therefore offers maternal protection to those around him. He wants to protect people from harm and prevent any danger or risk from threatening the happiness of other people. In extreme cases, the caretaker turns into a martyr who constantly reminds everyone of his sacrifices.

7. The Magician

The magician is like a great revolutionary. He regenerates and renews not only for himself, but also for others. He is constantly growing and transforming. The negative side of this archetype is that his mood can be contagious. Sometimes he turns positive events into negative ones.

8. The Hero

The center of gravity of a hero’s life is power. The hero has an unusual vitality and resistance that he uses to fight for power or honor. He will do anything to avoid losing. In fact, he never loses because he never gives up. The hero can be overly ambitious and directing.

9. The Rebel

The rebel is a transgressor. He provokes people and doesn’t care at all about the opinions of others. As a result, he likes to go against the grain and think for himself. He doesn’t want to be pressured or influenced. The negative side of the rebellious archetype is that it can become self-destructive.

10. The Lover

The lover is all heart and sensitivity. He likes love and likes to shower other people with it. His greatest happiness is feeling loved. He enjoys everything that is pleasing to the senses. Above all else, he values ​​beauty (in every sense of the word).

Heart in the hands of a woman

11. The Jester

The jester likes to laugh, even at himself. He doesn’t wear masks and tends to break down the walls others build. He never takes himself seriously because his goal is to enjoy life. The negative side of the jester is that he can be lewd, lazy and greedy.

12. The Orphan

The archetype of the orphan walks around with open wounds. He feels betrayed and disappointed. He wants other people to take charge of his life. And when no one does, he feels disappointed.

He also tends to spend time with people who feel just like him. The orphan often plays the victim. He pretends to be innocent. The orphan has a cynical side and manipulative talent.

The twelve Jung archetypes we describe here are not the only version of Jung’s ideas. Other versions contain different archetypes. However, they are essentially the same, only they have slightly different names. You can use these archetypes in many fields, including psychotherapy, marketing, and art.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button